Halifax FC Women vs Derby County Women

Although I haven’t been focussing on Division One of the Northern Counties East League, I am still looking to get to all the grounds. I decided this morning I’d have a look at women’s games, and I noticed this was being played at Yorkshire Amateur. I’ve known Derby are a well established Women’s National League Northern Premier Division side (I watched then at Sunderland a couple of times), but I wasn’t aware of Halifax. A little bit of research told me Brighouse became Halifax, and that’s how they’re playing at this level. The reason I attended this game was because it was at Yorkshire Amateur, and it’s a ground I quite liked. For Northern Counties East Lague level, it’s a good venue, but there were a few little things that I could see which maybe led them Yorkshire Amateur failing to meet ground grading in the Northern Premier League a couple of years ago. They still have the typical Northern Premier League sign outside the ground even though they’re now two divisions below.

The game was an entertaining one where Halifax just about edged it, but their goalkepeer Becky Flaherty had to save a penalty to preserve their slender lead. Drew Greene’s 21st minute strike proved to be the only goal of the game.

Full-time: Halifax FC Women 1-0 Derby County Women

Next up for me is Easington Colliery vs Newcastle University tomorrow.

Halifax FC Women: Flaherty, Boydell, Dean, Armson, Darcie Greene, Drew Greene, John, Legge (c), Sowerby, Whitham, Oliver

Subs: Stevens, Monique Walton, Willis, Freya Watson, White

Derby County Women: Morgan, Jenkins, Steggles, Jackson, Meadows, Wilson, Joyce, May, Sims (c), Rai, Ashton

Subs: Ward, Rhodes-Andrews, Sheridan, Shepherd, O’Connor

Admission: £6 adults, £4 concessions

Programme: £1

Attendance: 209

Referee: Danielle Whitworth

Leave a comment