Shildon Railway vs Newton Aycliffe YFC Seniors

I was going to do New Durham vs Billingham Town Reserves tonight, but it was no longer of interest once it wa moved to the Ford Hub. This was the other venue in the Wearside League tonight I had never visited before, and so I decided on a trip to Shildon.

It’s just a pitch, but it’s in a pleasant setting. I travelled to this game not knowing Newton Aycliffe only needed a point to win the league.

It turns out that the game kicked off at 6:30 instead of 6:45, meaning I missed the opening action. I asked a Newton Aycliffe coach if there was any score when I arrived and he said: “we’re getting beat 2-1. We were just awful in the first 10 minutes. Fair play to Shildon though”, and that’s all I can tell you about the opening three goals.

Newton Aycliffe equalised with around 25 minutes played when the Shildon goalkeeper totally missed a cross and it bounced into the net.

Thirteen minutes later, Aycliffe led through a direct free kick.

The second half looked goalless until Shildon equalised 20 seconds into additional time. An initial shot was saved, but the rebound was converted.

The point meant Newton Aycliffe won the league, but there were absolutely no celebrations at full time.

Full-time: Shildon Railway 3-3 Newton Aycliffe YFC Seniors

Next up for me is the Durham County Sunday Cup final on Thursday followed by Newcastle Blue Star vs Horden Community Welfare on Friday.

Admission: Free

Attendance: 62

Programme: No

Referee: Steve Monkhouse

2 Comments

  1. The first two goals for Shildon were scrappy, close range finishes after calamitous defending. It looks as if fixture congestion is getting to Aycliffe seniors now, I see they’re rotating the squad a lot as well. The Aycliffe goals are on their twitter.

    Like

Leave a comment